| By Emilie Katz

Sharapova in Sochi
Maria Sharapova went to Russia to showcase the city of Sochi for NBC, the home of the recently wrapped 2014 Winter Olympics. While there, she returned to one of the courts at the Evgeniy Kafelnikov Tennis Academy where she started her career, a court that Nike recently refurbished in her honor to offer inspiration to the local tennis community. There is also now a mural of Maria on the court as well as this inscription:

“This is more than a line on a wall. It’s where a little girl hit her first thousand tennis balls. It’s daring to go further. It’s defying the doubters. It’s deciding what you want. Then doing something about it. This is not just a line on a wall. It’s where legends are made.”



 

Cibulkova launches new clothing line
Dominika Cibulkova has debuted a signature collection of hats and T-shirts called “Domi.” In doing so, Cibulkova joins the ranks of such elites as Venus Williams (EleVen) and Maria Sharapova (Cole Haan) in owning a fashion line or collection. Cibulkova noted on Facebook that proceeds from the Domi brand will go to her foundation, called AHN in Slovakia, noting, "I try to help people that are not so lucky in life like me."



 

Wozniacki hires new coach
Caroline Wozniacki has hired Martin Mortensen, who previously coached Li Na and worked with Wozniacki as a junior. Wozniacki split with coach Thomas Hogstedt after their partnership lasted only three months. Mortensen has already identified where Wozniacki was suffering, saying, "She needs to get her joy in playing back—both in matches and on the practice court. A lot has happened with her game, but I'd like to see more of the old Caro. I'd like to see a fusion of the old Caroline with the new Caroline.

Mortensen continued, “From the latest I've seen of her from watching her matches, there have been a lot of flat shots without any pace changes, something she earlier was a master at. She's shouldn't be just another one of the players on the tour who just hit hard. She needs to use more facets. She is a great strategist. She needs to get comfortable again with her game."



 

Bouchard and the Biebs?
Nineteen-year-old Genie Bouchard was one of the biggest stories on the women’s side of the Australian Open. The Canadian advanced to the semifinals before losing to eventual champion Li Na. After the match, Bouchard, who has gained many male fans during her run, was asked in her on-court interview with 7 Sports which celebrity she’d like to date. Bouchard was totally embarrassed by the line of questioning, but she did manage to sheepishly provide an answer.

“Justin Bieber,” she said.

Bouchard’s answer was not taken well by the fans, who mostly groaned or booed. Bouchard was asked what she’d say to him if he were watching, and she gave a cute, flirty wave and smile.



 

Wedding bells for Djokovic
Novak Djokovic will soon marry his fiancée and longtime girlfriend, Jelena Ristic. The number two-ranked tennis player and six-time major champion told Ristic during a Serbian television talk show: “Jelena, enjoy it while you can. In a couple of months you will be changing your last name to Djokovic.” Ristic was shown smiling.

The two have been together for more than eight years.

 



 

Roger rakes it in
Roger Federer eaned $71.5 million in 2013 among ATP and WTA Pro tennis players. Maria Sharapova came in at second among all ATP and WTA touring pros, with Novak Djokovic, Serena Williams and Rafael Nadal rounding out the top five.



 

Tweets from the pros
Eugenie Bouchard (@geniebouchard): Dropped my phone in the ice bath and it still works. Today is a good day.

►Andy Roddick ‏(@andyroddick): Yes @drewbrees beat me in tennis when I was 9 and he was 11. Twice.... I finally beat him and he quit tennis. You're welcome football

►Sabine Lisicki (@sabinelisicki): The sun is rising & I'm done with 1st physio + training session! Feels so good.

►Andy Murray ‏(@andy_murray): How long before Sharapova makes an appearance in opening ceremony? I'm taking 12 minutes.

Chris Evert (@chrissieevert): I love playing tennis with my good friends @maevequinlan and @GavinRossdale ... Fun night ...

Roger Federer ‏(@rogerfederer): Enjoyable time on the court today, #office #sunshine #goodtimes

►Sania Mirza (@mirzasania): Annnddd it's 28 outside … bbrrrrr #freezing #cantfeelmyhands

Gael Monfils ‏(@gael_monfils): @RedFoo: I got a doubles partner with more super human powers then Batman! And Elastic man! … @gael_monfils Whooo! @vika7 @serenawilliams

►Rafa Nadal ‏(@rafaelnadal): Very grateful to the Laureus Academy members for nominating me for two categories @LaureusSport. Always an honor!

Bob Bryan (‏@Bryanbros): Escaped #DelrayBeach for a night to go home and hang out with my homies @Sunny Isles Beach

Lindsay Davenport (@ldavenport76): Already packing up & donating all the newborn size outfits. Four weeks has gone by fast.

►Victoria Azarenka (@vika7): On set shooting for @bentleymotors … so much fun shooting this Bentley mulsanne series. Loving the car!!

►Ryan Harrison (‏@ryanharrison92): This bronze medal game is depressing. #WhereIsTheFight?!

►Sorana Cirstea ‏(@sorana_cirstea): Sometimes u win, sometimes u learn ;) Good week to build on, off to airport now ... thanks for everything Dubai, see you next year

►Caroline Wozniacki (‏@carowozniacki): What an amazing day today at ski Dubai spending time with the penguins!! #dubaitennis

►Serena Williams ‏(@serenawilliams): I must make it to one of your tour dates! RT@MileyCyrus: #BangerzTourStartsTODAY

Sloane Stephens (‏@sloanetweets): Do whatever it is that makes you feel good. Who cares what anybody else says or thinks, don't be afraid to do what it takes to be happy

►Justin Gimelstob ‏(@justingimelstob): Excited good friend #ToddMartin named new CEO @TennisHalloFame seems like excellent fit, big congrats/thanks to Mark Stenning for all he's done

Andrea Petkovic ‏(@andreapetkovic): And after all these years, I still think Eminem's superhot. Ha! Go ahead and judge me now.

Maria Kirilenko ‏(@mkirilenko): Well done to everyone who took a medal!!! The best feelings!!! #Sochi2014 #OlympicGames2014