| By New York Tennis Magazine Staff

In 1953, Maureen Connolly was the first woman to win the Grand Slam in tennis history. More often known by her nickname “Little Mo,” she is still the only American woman to have accomplished this magnificent feat and the youngest at the age of 18. To honor her memory, the Maureen Connolly Brinker Tennis Foundation hosts a series of junior tennis tournaments for boys and girls ages eight to 12.

The first leg of the 2015 “Little Mo” Slam was played at the Morgan Run Club & Resort in San Diego, California from July 1-6. The New York event will be the second leg of the “Little Mo” Slam held at The West Side Tennis Club from Aug. 23-29.

Last year, approximately 140 players from 12 different countries took part in the event, and this year, it looks to be even more successful. The third and final leg will be played at the PGA National Resort and Spa in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla. from Dec. 4-9. If a player wins their division at all three Internationals, they will receive the tallest trophy ever given in junior tennis at six-feet tall.

The “Little Mo” tournaments are designed to be fun and provide good competition for the younger player at the sectional, regional, national, and international level. The players in the “Little Mo” Internationals are the youngest and brightest stars in junior tennis as many champions, including well-known player Andy Roddick, have come through the “Little Mo” program.

The goal for the “Little Mo” International Open is for players to develop new friendships with players from other countries, provide outstanding competition, learn good sportsmanship and most of all, have fun. Several international events have also been added where juniors from all over the world can come and compete with players who are their own age.

Matches begin at 8:00 a.m. on Monday, Aug. 24 and continue through Friday, Aug. 28 with a rain date on Saturday, Aug. 29. There will also be a mixed-doubles event on Aug. 28 on the famous grass courts of The West Side Tennis Club–previous home of the U.S. Open Championships.

Click here to register for the event.