| By New York Tennis Magazine Staff

For the first time in three years, New York City has a new girls’ team tennis champion.

The Wolverines of Bronx Science denied Beacon a fourth-straight PSAL championship on Thursday afternoon, defeating the three-time defending champions 3-2 at Cunningham Park.

In a matchup between the top two teams in the city all season long, it was Bronx Science who drew first blood with a 6-3, 7-6 victory from Perene Wang over Alexus Gill at second singles.

Christina Huynh added to that lead with a 6-0, 6-0 victory over Dakota Grinnard at third singles, moving Bronx Science within one win of the title.

That victory would come from the first doubles court, as Sofie Levine and Klara Wichterle defeated Beacon’s Michelle Khaimov and Sophia Prudhomme 6-2, 6-2 to clinch the victory for the Wolverines.

“This year, with the addition of Perene [Wang] and Christina [Huynh], we’re so reinforced that we can play without our best and still win big matches against other nationally ranked opponents like Beacon,” said Bronx Science head coach Jeff Menaker. “I’m more proud of how the kids have conducted themselves than the winning of banners. It is never easy in the junior tennis landscape. We have as many team goals off the court as we do on it. I think that might be what sets this particular group apart.”

Bronx Science played the bulk of this season without two-time Mayor’s Cup champion and top singles player Brianna Williams, but the depth of the Wolverines squad more than made up for that loss, running the table and finishing the season with a 15-0 record.

The girls from Bronx Science will now turn its focus to the PSAL Individual Tournament and the Mayor’s Cup.

“We see the PSAL title as a step toward meeting all of our goals this season,” added Menaker. “On the court, we still have work to do in the individual events and at the Mayor’s Cup team competition with the private schools. We’re excited about yesterday, but, still very focused on all of our goals.”

Credit all photos to Alice Levine and Henry Tian.

The three Bronx Science senior captains pose with the championship trophy.