| By New York Tennis Magazine Staff

Sixteen of the top Division I men's tennis teams will meet up in Charlottesville, Va., to compete for the 2016 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) National Men's Team Indoor Championship. Defending NCAA National Champion, the University of Virginia, will serve as the event host, with all competition over the four-day event (Feb. 12-15) scheduled to take place at Boar's Head Sports Club.

The ITA Division I National Men's Team Indoor Championship dates back to 1973. Stanford owns the most ITA Indoor titles with 12, followed by UCLA with seven and the host Cavaliers with five championships.

Thirteen of the 15 number one seeds in the 2016 ITA Kick-Off Weekend advanced to the National Team Indoor Championship. By virtue of hosting the ITA Indoors, Virginia garnered an automatic bid into the event and did not have to participate in the 2016 ITA Kick-Off Weekend.

The Big 12 has the most teams at the ITA Indoors per conference with four, including defending ITA Indoors champions, Oklahoma. Joining the host Cavaliers to compete for the lone team-based ITA national title are: Oklahoma, Baylor, TCU, Texas Tech, Wake Forest, North Carolina, Georgia, Texas A&M, Ohio State, Illinois, USC, UCLA, San Diego, South Florida and Columbia.

The seeds in the ITA Indoors field were determined based off of an unpublished ranking conducted by the National Ranking Committee earlier in the week. Virginia is the number one seed and Texas A&M is the number two seed. North Carolina is seeded third, followed by USC at fourth and TCU at number five. Rounding out the top eight are Ohio State (six), UCLA (seven) and Oklahoma (eight). Teams were moved to avoid playing opponents in the first round already on their respective regular-season schedules.

First Round Matches
No. 1 Virginia vs. No. 16 San Diego, 6:30 p.m. ET
​►No. 8 Oklahoma vs. No. 9 Wake Forest, 6:30 p.m. ET
​►No.. 4 USC vs. No. 13 South Florida, 3:30 p.m. ET
​►No. 5 TCU vs. No. 12 Illinois, 3:30 p.m. ET
​►No. 6 Ohio State vs. No. 11 Baylor, 9 a.m. ET
​►No. 3 North Carolina vs. No. 14 Texas Tech, 9 a.m. ET
​►No. 7 UCLA vs. No. 10 Georgia, 12 p.m. ET
​►No. 2 Texas A&M vs. No. 15 Columbia, 12 p.m. ET

Men's Qualifiers by Conference
​►Big 12 (4) = Oklahoma; Baylor; TCU; Texas Tech
​►ACC (3) = Virginia; North Carolina; Wake Forest
​►SEC (2) = Georgia; Texas A&M
​►Big Ten (2) = Ohio State; Illinois
​►Pac-12 (2) = USC; UCLA
​►WCC (1) = San Diego
​►American (1) = South Florida
​►Ivy (1) = Columbia