"A" Division semifinals are set
  | By New York Tennis Magazine Staff
Photo courtesy of iStock


The playoffs in New York City are heating up with competitive matches throughout the PSAL, and on Thursday, the “A” Division quarterfinals, and the “B” Division semifinals, were played.

“A” Quarterfinals

Stuyvesant 3, Bronx Science 2

Sara Novo won at first singles and Sonia Atlas was a winner at third singles for Stuyvesant. At second doubles, Julia Chernobelsky & Madison Cheng notched a victory to clinch the Stuyvesant win.

Hunter 3, High School for American Studies 2

Ella Moran & Karina Chung were first doubles winners, and Avi Li and Sophia Luo won at first and second singles, respectively, as Hunter advanced to the semifinals.

Beacon 5, Francis Lewis 0

Beacon powered its way into the semifinals. Natalie Bergmann, Nyla Ferdinand and Naisha Rathi won at first, second and third singles, respectively, and Mia Sarzynska & Patrycja Filonik were first doubles victors. At second doubles, Anna Struthers & Sarah Azaria rounded out the Beacon scoring with a win.

McKee/Staten Island Tech 3, Brooklyn Tech 2

At first singles, McKee/Staten Island Tech’s Hope Cheung won, and Sonia Lyakhovich & Theresa Morano posted a first doubles victory, and Dana Neyman & Sree Kolla won at second doubles.


Beacon will play McKee/Staten Island Tech, and Stuyvesant plays Hunter in the “A” Division semifinals on Monday, November 1.


“B” Semifinals

Fort Hamilton 5, Bard 0

Fort Hamilton is into the “B” Division Championship after the shutout victory. Angelina Bittan, Sevinch Rakhmatdinova and Isabella Veseli won at first, second and third singles, respectively. Barbara Carrion & Julia Aksamentova won at first doubles, and Isabella Tchij & Janice Li were winners at second doubles.

The Scholars Academy 5, Lab Museum 0

In doubles, Jenna Rodriguez & Olupelumi Ajimati won at first doubles, and Keira Barron & Mariah Garnett won at second doubles. Karolina Horn, Brianna Loo and Taylor White posted victories at first, second and third singles, respectively.


The Scholars Academy will play Fort Hamilton in the “B” Division Championship on Thursday, November 4 at Flushing Meadows Corona Park.