| By Press Release


Nominations for the annual USTA Eastern Awards Dinner are open until Friday, October 7. Individuals and organizations may be nominated for more than 20 awards, including Tennis Woman of the YearTennis Man of the Year and Organization of the Year. All members of Eastern's tennis community are encouraged to submit nominations. 

With its annual awards, USTA Eastern honors those who have made remarkable contributions toward growing and promoting tennis at the grassroots level. Recipients are typically recognized in January during a ceremonial dinner at the Eastern Tennis Conference.

On the form, Eastern requires that you upload a paragraph that gives us some brief biographical information on the person or organization you are nominating and a short explanation outlining why the nominee deserves to be recognized. This information is very important to the selection process and will only take a few minutes to complete. 

Click Here to submit a nomination

Click here for a downloadable list of all awards and their official descriptions.

Click here to look back at all of our award winners in each category since 1998.


-Nominee must be active in volunteering in some or all of the following:

-Serving as a volunteer in fostering tennis at any level of USTA Eastern in such activities as conducting tournaments

-Developing and/or sustaining junior and adult programs

-Holding office(s) at the various levels of USTA Eastern

-Volunteer coaching

-Competing in tennis

-Enriching the game of tennis in other related activities  

USTA Eastern Awards and Descriptions

Tennis Woman of the Year: Awarded to a woman in recognition of her outstanding volunteer efforts and service to tennis in the USTA Eastern section.

Leslie J. FitzGibbon Tennis Man of the Year: Awarded to a male USTA Eastern volunteer in recognition of long and outstanding service to tennis in the section.

Tennis Family of the Year: In recognition of a family who supports the game of tennis through service and is committed to the game of tennis as players and/or volunteers.

Member Organization of the Year: Awarded for outstanding service to its members involved in junior and adult tennis programs and for contributions to the local tennis community.  (Clubs are eligible.) 

Lifetime Achievement Award: Awarded to a volunteer in recognition of years of dedicated service, while promoting and developing tennis in the community. This individual has made a great impact by spreading their passion for tennis and touching many lives. The recipient of this award is selected internally by the organization. We do not accept nominations for this award.

Louise Cilla Award: Recognizes a female adult (senior) player who has exemplified outstanding sportsmanship both on and off the court and who has contributed much to the game. 

George Seewagen Award: Awarded to a USTA Eastern teaching professional who exemplifies excellence in competition, sportsmanship and love of the game. 

Umpire Service Award: Awarded to a USTA Eastern sectional umpire who has contributed greatly to the field of tennis officiating.

Virginia and Chuck Landis High School Coach of the Year: Awarded to a high school tennis coach who has shown exemplary leadership, enthusiasm and team-building skills. 

Fran Osei Community Service Award: Awarded for long time, hands-on contributions to the development and growth of tennis in the community (schools, parks and recreation, CTAs and NJTLs). 

Corporate Service Award: Awarded to an organization whose sponsorship of tennis and programs has helped to grow the sport in the section. 

Diversity & Inclusion Leadership Award: Awarded to a person or organization who has demonstrated leadership and promotional initiatives in bringing tennis programs to diverse communities within the section. 

Clinician of the Year: Awarded to a teaching professional whose dedication and enthusiasm in teaching USTA programs (schools, parks and recreation, CTAs, NJTLs, staff trainings and clinics) have helped to increase player participation and retention in the section. 

Collegiate Award: Awarded to a college for performance of community service in connection with tennis and/or outstanding Tennis On Campus contributions. 

Press Service Award: Awarded to a member of the press corps for excellence in reporting tennis in the section. 

Service to/People with Disabilities Award: This award is to recognize outstanding people dedicated to working with special populations through tennis, or to give special recognition to a disabled player. 

Special Service Award: Awarded to a person who has made a special contribution to tennis in the section. This award is for accomplishments not covered by other award categories.  

USTA League Award: Awarded to a captain or coordinator who has made a significant contribution in the growth and development of USTA League Tennis in the section. 

Junior Team Tennis Award: Awarded to a captain or coordinator who has made a significant contribution in the growth and development of USTA Junior Team Tennis in the section.

10 and Under Tennis Award: Awarded to a person or organization who has done an outstanding job promoting 10 and Under Tennis in the section. This includes consistently offering 10 and Under Tennis programming using red, orange and green tennis during Play Days, Play Events, 10 and Under tournaments and/or 10 and Under Junior Team Tennis. 

Tournament Director of the Year: This award is presented to an individual who runs a USTA Eastern sanctioned tournament that has provided the optimal experience for junior players during the past year. Tournament directors must have devoted at least five years of service running tournaments for a district. 

Ron Smyth Parent Sportsmanship Award: This award is presented to an individual who has made a significant impact and contribution toward USTA Eastern junior programming (Junior Tournaments or Junior Team Tennis), and has shown exceptional support of junior players and their families. This parent also must have a junior tennis player currently participating in USTA events. The recipient of this award is selected internally by the organization. We do not accept nominations for this award.

Courage Award: Awarded to a tennis enthusiast or advocate who has demonstrated the ability to overcome adversity and display strength and optimism.