| By New York Tennis Magazine Staff

The Junior Tennis Foundation (JTF) will recognize six integral members of the tennis community on Friday, April 21, 2017 at 7 p.m. during the 30th Annual Eastern Tennis Hall of Fame Celebration at the Beach Point Club in Mamaroneck, N.Y. 

The individuals who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame are: Judge Nicholas G. Garaufis, a USTA life member who has served on several USTA committees and is currently a Senior United States District Judge for the Eastern District of New York, Christine, Patricia and Theresa O’Reilly, former standout Eastern junior players who brought the Duke women’s tennis program to national prominence, then went on to compete professionally, Steve Siegel, former ATP player and Director of Racquet Sports at Plandome Country Club in Plandome, N.Y., and Dick Zausner, Director of the Port Washington Tennis Academy who has given thousands of youth and adults the opportunity to try tennis.

Proceeds from the celebration will benefit JTF, which provides scholarships and grants for junior and adaptive tennis players throughout the Eastern Section. At the event, two junior players, Akash Mahesh Hongal and Jamila Akhmedjanova, will receive David N. Dinkins Scholarship Awards for their accomplishments both athletically and academically.

Since its inception in 1979, JTF has provided more than $2 million for programs and scholarships in the Eastern Section. 

“The Junior Tennis Foundation has been an important supporter of USTA Eastern’s junior players and programs,” Jenny Schnitzer, executive director of USTA Eastern said. “The Hall of Fame Celebration is a great way to thank the organization for all it has given to the sport.” 

Click here for information to register. For additional information, email roa@eastern.usta.com or call 914-697-2386.